top of page
搜尋
作家相片Cicily Liu

Exploring the habits of mind

已更新:2021年1月23日

In this writing course, I am putting effort to improving my 8 habits of my mind.


Curiosity – the desire to know more about the world

It is important that having curiosity in the mind, because curiosity will push you explore the world. Thoughtful ideas are always happened in a strong thirst for knowledge. I will develop this habit in future.

Openness – the willingness to consider new ways of being and thinking in the world

In the past two weeks, I was considering critical question in an open mind. For example, the Toxic Masculinity project.

Engagement – a sense of investment and involvement in learning

I prefer to call “engagement” learning to use. When we talks about the Killing us softly. It arouse me some thoughtful idea engaging my life.



Creativity – the ability to use novel approaches for generating, investigating, and representing ideas

In week3 discussion posts, I provide some idea after watching beauty and the beast. I was exploring actors' dialogues and words, trying to get some creative ideas.

Persistence – the ability to sustain interest in and attention to short- and long-term projects

As for an international student, reading articles always bring me some problems, such as unknown words, complicated grammar. I will note them on my notebook.

Flexibility – the ability to adapt to situations, expectations, or demands

From my perspective, the flexibility of writing is a kind of following the instruction of writing effectively. There are numbers kinds of writing style, you should know it clearly that you can writing flexible.

Responsibility – the ability to take ownership of one’s actions and understand the consequences of those actions for oneself and others

Responsibility is very abstract. But lately I've been experiencing it firsthand. Whenever I stay up late at night and feel sluggish the next day, I force myself to do my homework. I consider myself responsible for my actions. Don't let staying up late affect normal work.

Metacognition (reflection) – the ability to reflect on one’s own thinking as well as on the individual and cultural processes used to structure knowledge

Metacognition includes a critical awareness of a) one's thinking and learning and b) oneself as a thinker and learner. When I am annotating the Killing us Softly, I was providing the critical ideas.



12 次查看1 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

Pre-Production Blog

1. The day and time of your pre-production meeting February 16 2021 2. A list of each group member (including yourself) and their roles...

1 Comment


zebangx1
Jan 31, 2021

Hi, Cicily! I can strongly relate your point of view about “Persistence” of the 8 habits to my own experience that as an international student whose first language is not English, we have to spend more time and make more efforts on one specific article to perfectly finish our assignments on time. That is why we need this habit of mind, “Persistence” to improve our writing skills and to study more and engage more in this class.

Like
文章: Blog2_Post
bottom of page